Boe and Mogensen the attraction in London
Date: 9/13/2013 11:17 AM
Published by : Manuel Røsler

ENGLISH National men’s and mixed doubles champion Chris Langridge has been given a high seeding in both his badminton events at the inaugural London Grand Prix Gold at the Copper Box Arena from October 1-6.

Langridge is second seed in the men’s doubles with Peter Mills and third seed in the mixed doubles with Heather Olver in the tournament, which is being staged by BADMINTON England in conjunction with presenting partners adidas and showcases the sport on the Olympic Park as part of the London 2012 legacy programme.

Marcus Ellis and Scotland’s Paul Van Rietvelde, last season’s Denmark International winners, are third men’s doubles seeds.

But the pair to beat will be Denmark’s Mathias Boe and Carsten Mogensen, the former world No 1 pair and last month’s World Championship silver medallists.

Olver and Kate Robertshaw are No.4 seeds in the women’s doubles, where Denmark’s world bronze medalists Kamilla Rytter Juhl and Christinna Pedersen are top seeds.

England’s Commonwealth silver medallist and six-times National champion Rajiv Ouseph is fourth seed in the men’s singles with three Danes seeded ahead of him in the shape of Jan Ø. Jørgensen, Hans-Kristian Vittinghus and Viktor Axelsen.

Scotland’s Kirsty Gilmour is No 5 seed in the women’s singles with Thailand’s Busanan Ongbumrungpan and Portntip Buranaprasertsuk and Spain’s Carolina Marin the top three seeds.

When BADMINTON England launched their partnership with adidas in May, it marked the global sports brand’s debut into the world of badminton and they have quickly followed that by providing title sponsorship of this week’s China Masters.

The London Grand Prix Gold is also being supported by BADMINTON England’s hosting partner GLL, official partner Neptunus Ltd and hydration partner Iceni Waters.

To book tickets on line go to or

For information on all things badminton, take a look at


Men’s Singles

1 Jan Ø Jørgensen (Den)
2 Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (Den)
3 Viktor Axelsen (Den)
4 Rajiv Ouseph (Eng)
5 Mohamad Arif Abdul Latif (Mas)
6 Chun Seang Tan (Mas)
7 Anand Pawar (Ind)
8 Ville Lang (Fin)

Women’s Singles

1 Busanan Ongbumrungpan (Tha)
2 Portntip Buranaprasertsuk (Tha)
3 Carolina Marin (Spa)
4 Sashina Vignes Waran (Fra)
5 Kirsty Gilmour (Sco)
6 Kristina Gavnholt (Cze)
7 Karin Schnaase (Ger)
8 Xuan Deng (Chn)

Men’s Doubles

1 Mathias Boe & Carsten Mogensen (Den)
2 Chris Langridge & Peter Mills (Eng)
3 Marcus Ellis (Eng) & Paul Van Rietvelde (Sco)
4 Wahyu Nayaka  Arya Pankaryanira & Ade Yusuf (Ina)

Women’s Doubles

1 Kamilla Rytter Juhl & Christinna Pedersen (Den)
2 Birgit Michels & Johanna Goliszewski (Ger)
3 Lei Yao & Shinta Mulia Sari (Sin)
4 Heather Olver & Kate Robertshaw (Eng)

Mixed Doubles

1 Danny Bawa Chrisnanta & Yu Yan Vanessa Neo (Sin)
2 Michael Fuchs & Birgit Michels (Ger)
3 Chris Langridge & Heather Olver (Eng)
4 Irfan Fadhilah & Weni Anggraini (Ina)

Article by William Kings, Photo by BadmintonPhoto.

© All rights reserved.

Related news
Thai triumph in Bangkok
There are not many tournaments...

We're hiring!
Badminton Europe is seeking a ...

Athletes set for Paris: Olympic qualifiers announced
With just over two months rema...

The World Tour resumes
After over a month's hiatus, t...

China reach 30!
Fans in Chengdu, China, witnes...

Indonesia ignite Thomas & Uber Cup
Indonesian fans are on top of ...

More news