Two new BEC Directors join BWF Council for 2017-2021
Date: 5/22/2017 10:19 AM
Published by : Emma Lollike
Elections for the Council of the World’s Badminton Federation (BWF) was organized on Saturday 20 May at the BWF Annual General Meeting, in Gold Coast. Emma Mason of Scotland and Robbert de Kock of Switzerland join the BWF Council along five other newcomers. 

In correlation with the Total BWF Sudirman Cup 2017, member associations from all over the world has travelled to Gold Coast to cast their votes and participate in the seventh edition of the BWF Member’s Forum. Out of the 145 member associations present, 41 were of the European Badminton confederation (BEC). 

Emma Mason, 30, Scotland
Besides having a past as a top player for Scotland, Emma Mason is not a stranger to the commission work in BWF and BEC. She was chair of the BWF Athletes’ Commission from 2010-2015, and the BEC Women in Badminton Working Group from 2012-2015. 

From 2013-2015, she was a BWF Council member and a member of the Major Events, Marketing and Women in Sport Commissions. She joined Badminton Europe’s Board of Directors in 2016 and is currently chairing the Member Structures Commission.

"'I am both honoured and excited to have been given the opportunity by the BWF members to once again be part of the BWF Council.  We are in an exciting period for badminton following a positive Rio 2016 and I look forward to seeing where this Council can take our sport in the next four years.” Emma said to BADMINTONscotland.

Robbert de Kock, 52, Switzerland
De Kock shares the past as a professional badminton player with his fellow newly-elected council member, as he played in the Netherlands. He is President and CEO of World Federation of the Sporting Goods Industry (WFSGI), and President of Swiss Badminton. 

At Badminton Europe’s 50th Annual Delegates’ Meeting this April, de Kock joined the Board of Directors and is currently chairing the Commercial Commission.

Badminton Europe wishes to congratulate Emma Mason and Robbert de Kock on their successful elections.

European participation
Overall, it has been a beneficial election for Badminton Europe, as two BEC Directors join five re-elected European council members. The BWF Council consists of: a President, a Deputy President, five continental Vice Presidents, Vice President Para-Badminton, 18 other Council members, and the Chair of the Athletes’ Commission.

The BWF Council is the elected governing board of the BWF and serves a term of four years. The Council conducts and oversees the day to day affairs of the BWF between AGMs.

11 European Council Members listed by name, member association and title (alphabetical order by the surname):

David Cabello – Spain – Council Member
Poul-Erik Høyer – Denmark  –  President
Robbert de Kock – Switzerland – Council Member
Paul Kurzo – Switzerland –  BWF Vice-President Para-Badminton
Emma Mason – Scotland – Council Member
Nora Perry – England – Council Member
Sergey Shakhray – Russia – Council Member
Yuhan Tan – Belgium – BWF Athletes’ Chair*
Peter Tarcala – Slovakia – Council Member
Etienne Thobois – France – Council Member
Gregory Verpoorten – Belgium - Vice President Europe

Poul-Erik Høyer and Paul Kurzo were re-elected unopposed along with BWF Deputy President Gustavo Salazar Delgado of Peru. 

* Yuhan Tan's term in the Athletes' Commission expires this year.

See the 18 council members elected by the BWF membership on 20 May 2017 for the BWF Council (2017-2021) here.

Athletes’ Commission Elections
From 26 April to 24 May 2017, elections for three positions in the Athletes’ Commission will take place. The three positions are available as the terms of Yuhan Tan (BEL), Greysia Polii (INA), and Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (DEN) are expiring this year.

The email voting period for the Athletes’ Commission elections started on 26 April 2017 and extends for a month until Wednesday 24 May 2017.
On 24 May 2017, players competing at the TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup can vote at the competition venue.

Nine nominations (in alphabetical by the first name):

Akville Stapusaityte – Lithuania
Edwin Ekiring – Uganda
Koo Kien Keat– Malaysia
Kirsty Gilmour – Scotland
Luis Ramon Garrido Esquivel – Mexico
Marc Zwiebler – Germany
Nikhar Garg- India
Pusarla V. Sindhu – India

Read more about the Athletes’ Commission Elections here.

© All rights reserved.

Related news
Malaysia Masters Day 1 RECAP
European players give a mixed ...

Thrilling finals in Thailand
The TOYOTA Thailand Open 2024 ...

Thai triumph in Bangkok
There are not many tournaments...

We're hiring!
Badminton Europe is seeking a ...

Athletes set for Paris: Olympic qualifiers announced
With just over two months rema...

The World Tour resumes
After over a month's hiatus, t...

More news