#EMWTC24 Qualification: Game on!
Date: 12/4/2023 3:59 PM
Published by : Sara Gonzalez Martinez (BEC)
The 2024 European Men's & Women's Team Championships Qualification Stage is taking place this week. Here are the most important details for you to follow the tournament.

The 2024 European Men's & Women's Team Championships Qualification Stage is set to unfold from Wednesday 6 December, promising a week of exciting clashes. Spread across eight distinct locations, the tournament will not unfold simultaneously at all venues, offering a dynamic schedule of events. These matches will determine which teams secure their spot in the main event taking place in Lodz, Poland, from 14 to 18 February 2024.

What are the European Men’s & Women’s Team Championships?
The European Men’s & Women’s Team Championships, held biennially in even years, is where Europe's top male and female national teams can earn the title of the continent's best. This showdown also doubles as the European qualifier for the prestigious Thomas & Uber Cup Finals – the upcoming edition of which will be taking place in Chengdu, China, from 28 April to May 5, 2024.

From its inauguration in 2006 in Thessaloniki, Greece, to its ninth edition in the Sport Arena Łódź, Poland, this event has become a staple, and next year, it's making a triumphant return after its cancellation in 2022. Poland is no stranger to hosting, having previously welcomed international tournaments, BEC events – including the 2010 edition of this same event – and more recently, the European Games.

Who’s in the running?
Denmark, men’s and women’s reigning champions from 2020, and host nation Poland, enjoy automatic qualification, bypassing the qualification stage. The spotlight now turns to the teams battling it out in both men’s and women’s across different groups. Here's a sneak peek into the lineup:

  • Group 1: France, Bulgaria, Italy, Slovenia
  • Group 2: Germany, Estonia, Finland, Malta
  • Group 3: England, Iceland, Sweden, Switzerland
  • Group 4: Netherlands, Hungary, Latvia, Spain
  • Group 5; Subgroup 1: Scotland, Slovakia, Ukraine; Subgroup 2: Belgium, Greenland, Israel
  • Group 6; Subgroup 1: Czech Republic, Austria, Portugal; Subgroup 2: Azerbaijan, Ireland, Norway
  • Group 1: Spain, Italy, Luxembourg, Sweden
  • Group 2: Germany, England (Iceland and Norway have withdrawn)
  • Group 3: France, Belgium, Slovenia, Switzerland
  • Group 4: Azerbaijan, Estonia, Scotland, Slovakia
  • Group 5; Subgroup 1: Bulgaria, Ireland, Latvia; Subgroup 2: Greenland, Türkiye, Ukraine
  • Group 6: Subgroup 1: Netherlands, Finland, Portugal; Subgroup 2: Czech Republic, Hungary, Israel
How does the qualification work?
Only one victorious team from each group will emerge, securing a coveted spot in the final stage slated for February. These winning teams will join Denmark, the reigning champion in both men’s and women’s, and host team Poland, in a grand showdown. With eight teams in both the men’s and women’s categories, the final stage promises a great event.

How can I follow the tournament?
All eight locations will offer live streaming. For a comprehensive guide on streaming and updates, check out our detailed guide here.

As always, stay tuned to our platforms for the latest updates.

© All rights reserved.

Related news
New category for the 2024 BEC Awards: The Social Media Award
Every year, the BEC Awards rec...

BEC Awards 2024: These are the nominees
Finally, the nominations for t...

Celebrating new national champions
Every year, National Champions...

Happy 60th anniversary Estonia
Today the Estonian Badminton F...

Two from two
What a start to the year for A...

New year, new Antonsen
Last year, Anders Antonsen fea...

More news