Russia did great in Kazan. Photo: Mark Phelan
New European U15 Champions are crowned
Date: 2/18/2018 3:14 PM
Published by : Rasmus Bech(BEC)

Five times gold were clinched by some of the biggest U15 talents in Europe in Kazan. The hosting nation claimed three of the golden medals.

Alongside the finals at the 2018 European Men’s & Women’s Championships, five new European U15 Champions were crowned:

The top seed in men’s singles, Alex Lanier from France clinched the gold medal beating countryman Simon Baron-Vezilier 21-15 21-14.

Men’s singles European U15 Champions:
2014: Jesper Toft - Denmark
2016: Harry Huang - England

2018: Alex Lanier – France

In the women’s single the hosting nation, Russia, claimed the gold medal. Mariia Golubeva won in straight games 21-17 21-18 against English Lisa Curtin

Women’s singles European U15 Champions:
2014: Alexandra Bøje – Denmark
2016: Mathilde Cramer Ahrens - Denmark
2018: Mariia Golubeva - Russia

The all Danish final in men’s doubles was won by Jakob Houe Andersen and Christian Faust Kjær when they beat countrymen Mikkel Langemark and Jeppe Søby.

- It is crazy. This is the biggest thing, we have ever done. It is a small step towards being professional, the winner’s said after the final.

Men’s doubles European U15 Champions:
2014: Paw Eriksen / Mads Thøgersen - Denmark  
2016: Kenji Lovang / Christo Popov - France
2018: Jakob Houe Andersen / Christian Faust Kjær - Denmark

The final in the women’s doubles was an all-Russian fight for gold. Elizavta Barananova and Sofiia Bychkova won a thrilling final 21-16 18-21 27-25 against Ekaterina Kazantseva and Ekaterina Tarasova.

Women’s doubles European U15 Champions:
2014: Marlies Baan / Ella Peters - Netherlands
2016: Bengisu Ercetin / Zehra Erdem - Turkey
2018: Elizavta Barananova / Sofiia Bychkova – Russia

In mixed doubles Mariia Golubeva won her second gold medal. In the final Golubeva and Egor Borisov beat Russian Maksim Ogloblin and Elizaveta Malkova 21-19 21-11

Mixed doubles European U15 Champions:
2014: Jesper Toft / Alexandra Bøje  (DEN) 
2016: Sebastian Grønbjerg / Clara Graversen - Denmark
2018: Maria Golubeva / Egor Borisov - Russia

© All rights reserved.

Related news
The 2018 European Senior Championships logo has been revealed
The 2018 European Senior Champ...

Primorye Vladivostok win fifth title since 2012
Russian champions Primorye Vla...

Russia V France for club glory
After two semi final defeats i...

Medals secured for Primorye, Chambly, IMBC & Milano
After the quarter finals sessi...

No surprises as groups conclude
The group stages of the Europe...

Abian leads Recreativo to quarter final
As has been so often the case ...

More news