(Photo: Badminton Photo)
Seedings are here for the Denmark Open
Date: 9/25/2020 8:49 AM
Published by : Alan Raftery & Badminton Denmark
With less than three weeks until the DANISA Denmark Open 2020 presented by VICTOR kicks off, the seedings for the tournament are now here. Take a look at who’s playing! 

The tournament will take place 13-18 October in Odense, where we will finally see the world’s top badminton stars return to the court. 

We are in for a world-class treat and the first of its kind in what feels like an age. Despite players missing from nations such as China and Indonesia, the Denmark Open is sure to be a spectacle attracting many viewers. 

In the men’s singles, Anders Antonsen will be trying to stop world number one, Kento Momota, from getting a hattrick of Denmark Open titles. 

Carolina Marin, similarly, is seeded third in the women’s singles and will be eyeing up her first Denmark Open title, after being a beaten semifinalist last year. Reigning two-time title winner, Tai Tzu Ying, will not be present to defend her title. 

The men’s doubles category is very competitive with seeds five to eight looking to secure a European Denmark Open win for the first time since Mathias Boe and Carsten Mogensen in 2010.

Now seeded fourth, Bulgaria’s Stoeva sisters will be hoping for a kinder draw after early exits in recent years in Denmark. The highest-seeded European players are Marcus Ellis and Lauren Smith, who are number two seeds in the mixed doubles behind the Japanese pair of Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashino, and just in front of 2017 champions, the pair from Hong Kong, Tang Chun Man/Tse Ying Suet. 

Here are the seedings: 

Men’s singles
1: Kento Momota, Japan
2: Chou Tien Chen, Chinese Taipei
3: Anders Antonsen, Denmark
4: Ng Ka Long, Hong Kong China
5: Kanta Tsuneyama, Japan
6: Kidambi Srikanth, India
7: Kantaphon Wangcharoen, Thailand
8: Kenta Nishimoto, Japan

Women’s singles
1: Akane Yamaguchi, Japan
2: Nozomi Okuhara, Japan
3: Carolina Marin, Spain
4: Michelle Li, Canada
5: Sayaka Takahashi, Japan
6: Zhang Beiwen, USA
7: Mia Blichfeldt, Denmark
8: Aya Ohori, Japan

Men’s doubles
1: Keigo Sonoda/Takeshi Kamura, Japan
2: Hiroyuki Endo/Yuta Watanabe, Japan
3: Wang Chi-Lin/Lee Yang, Japan
4: Takuro Hoki/Yugo Kobayashi, Japan
5: Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen, Denmark
6: Marcus Ellis/Chris Langridge, England
7: Mark Lamsfuss/Marvin Seidel, Germany
8: Vladimir Ivanov/Ivan Sozonov, Russia

Women’s doubles
1: Yuki Fukushima/Sayaka Hirota, Japan
2: Wakana Nagahara/Mayu Matsumoto, Japan
3: Chiharu Shida/Nami Matsuyama, Japan
4: Stefani Stoeva/Gabriela Stoeva, Bulgaria
5: Lauren Smith/Chloe Birch, England
6: Sara Thygesen/Maiken Fruergaard, Denmark
7: Kristen Tsai/Rachel Honderich, Canada
8: Selena Piek/Cheryl Seinen, Netherlands

Mixed doubles
1: Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashino, Japan
2: Marcus Ellis/Lauren Smith, England
3: Tang Chun Man/Tse Ying Suet, Hong Kong China
4: Chris Adcock/Gabrielle Adcock, England
5: Robin Tabeling/Selena Piek, Netherlands
6: Mark Lamsfuss/Isabel Herttrich, Germany
7: Rodion Alimov/Alina Davletova, Russia
8: Takuro Hoki/Wakana Nagahara, Japan

© All rights reserved.

Related news
Lithuania withdrawn from the European Junior Championships
Yesterday, after 72 hours in i...

Thailand excited to deliver Asian Leg of HSBC BWF World Tour
Today, the Badminton World Fed...

Repiska: Bringing my best version
Yesterday the women’s singles ...

BWF confirm the isolation of three players due to contact with a positive case at SaarLorLux Open 2020
BWF can confirm three players ...

Dutch National Team seeks a coach
Coach (Singles) for the Dutch ...

BEC Time Travel: Bitburger Open 2013
This week the SaarLorLux Open,...

More news