Marc Zwiebler (credit: Badminton Photo)
Marc Zwiebler to head the BWF Athletes' Commission
Date: 6/17/2019 11:56 AM
Published by : BWF Staff
Former German international Marc Zwiebler has been elected Chair of the BWF Athletes’ Commission for 2019-2021.

Zwiebler was elected in an email vote by members of the Athletes’ Commission; he received three votes. Ville Lang, former Finland international, was voted in as Deputy Chair.

Zwiebler replaces outgoing Chair Koen Ridder, who completed his two-year term in May 2019.

The Chair and Deputy Chair represent the interests of the players and their views to the BWF Council and various committees. 

The Chair is a voting member of the Council and advises it on matters of importance to athletes.

Zwiebler represented his country with distinction on the circuit. A left-hander, he reached the final of two Superseries events (the Indonesia Open in 2013 and the Denmark Open in 2009) and was European champion in 2012.

The current members of the Athletes’ Commission, in addition to Zwiebler and Lang, are India’s Pusarla V. Sindhu, Scotland’s Kirsty Gilmour and recently elected Peter Briggs from England.

BWF President Poul-Erik Høyer welcomed Zwiebler to the BWF Council: 

“As a former international player, Zwiebler is well suited to represent players and advance their interests in the Council. I look forward to working closely with him and Deputy Chair Ville Lang.”
© All rights reserved.

Related news
BWF statement on suspended badminton players Mr. Zulfadli Zulkiffli and Mr. Tan Chun Seang
** AMENDED** The Badminton ...

Adcocks do not feel the Olympic pressure
Gabrielle and Chris Adcock are...

Winning note for the hosts!
The White Nights 2019 ended to...

Two European pairs in the Semi-Finals in U.S.A.!
The YONEX US Open 2019 gets un...

European Games surprise aiming for titles
At the European Games, Kati-Kr...

Axelsen out of Indonesia and Japan
Viktor Axelsen has today rev...

More news