Boe/Mogensen take home Korea title for 3rd time
Date: 9/17/2017 8:31 AM
Published by : Manuel Røsler
Denmark’s superstars Mathias Boe and Carsten Mogensen became the first men’s duo to win the Korea Open three times and extended their career record to 15 Superseries titles with today’s victory over Indonesia’s Gideon/Sukamuljo.

The Danish number one seeds won 21-19, 19-21, 21-15. Boe (37) and Mogensen (34), currently world no 1, finished the contest in one hour and 8 minutes to claim their second Superseries title of 2017. In April they also celebrated a victory at the Singapore Open.

“They’re an extremely skillful pair and extremely good at the serve and return game, and we knew we were up for a big challenge. We are delighted to win our third title here in Korea,” said Mathias Boe to BWF’s official website

Follow Mathias Boe and Carsten Mogensen on Facebook.

Indonesia's Anthony Sinisuka Ginting claimed his first Superseries title as he beats fellow countryman Jonatan Christie in a neck-and-neck men's singles final.Revenge for PV Sindhu 

The women's singles saw a repeat of last month's World Championship final, but this time it was India's PV Sindhu who came out on top, beating Japan's Nozomi Okuhara in a pulsating match.

Sindhu, the Olympic silver medallist and fifth seed, edged the eighth-seeded world champion Okuhara 22-20, 11-21, 21-18 after an 83-minute battle.

The finals results:

MS: Anthony Ginting (INA) - Jonatan Christie (INA) 21-13, 19-21, 22-20
WS: PV Sindhu (IND) - Nozomi Okuhara (JPN) 22-20, 11-21, 21-18
MD: Mathias Boe/Carsten Mogensen (DEN) - Marcus Fernaldi Gideon/Kevin Sukamuljo (INA) 21-19, 19-21, 21-15

WD: Huang Yaqiong/Yu Xiaohan (CHN) - Chang Ye Na/Lee So Hee (KOR) 21-11, 21-15
XD: Praveen Jordan/Debby Susanto (INA) - Wang Yilyu/Huang Dongping (CHN) 21-17, 21-18

For all results from today’s finals in Seoul click HERE.

Recent European victories at the Korea Open:

2014: Mathias Boe/Carsten Mogensen (DEN)
2009: Peter Gade (DEN)
2009: Mathias Boe/Carsten Mogensen (DEN)
2009: Tine Baun (DEN)
2005: Peter Gade (DEN)
2005: Jens Eriksen/Martin Lundgaard (DEN)
2003: Kenneth Jonassen (DEN)
2003: Mia Audina (NED)

Article by Manuel Rösler. Photo by BadmintonPhoto (LIVE).

© All rights reserved.

Related news
Astrup/Rasmussen in the semi-final in Guangzhou
The final day of the group sta...

- We want to get a medal!
This week, Badminton Europe ha...

Saina Nehwal: I am blessed to be serving my country
Saina Nehwal is one of the wor...

Danes win on day two of the finals
Day 2 of the BWF World Tour F...

Taiwanese top seeds unscathed on opening day
The opening day for the end of...

Representative Visits Rapidly Gaining Interests
The Representative Visits (RV)...

More news