BadmintonPhoto: Marc Zwiebler (Germany), Kirsty Gilmour (Scotlant), Akvile Stapušaityte (Lithuania)
Three Europeans elected for BWF Athletes' Commission
Date: 5/24/2017 4:16 PM
Published by : Emma Lollike
Three European candidates ran for the election and, today, they were all successfully elected. Congratulations are in order for Marc Zwiebler, Kirsty Gilmour and Akvilė Stapusaityte.

The result showed that three out of the four new candidates for the BWF Atheletes’ Commission are European, while the last candidate, Pusarla V Sindhu, is from the Asian continent. 

Olympic silver medallist, Pusarla V Sindhu, led a trio of women onto the BWF Athletes’ Commission as voting for four places on the representative body took place in Gold Coast, Australia, today.

The Indian athlete topped the ballot with 129 votes with Kirsty Gilmour of Scotland placing third overall with 103 votes. Both will serve four-year terms along with Germany’s Marc Zwiebler who received 108 votes. These three replace Yuhan Tan (Belgium), Hans-Kristian Solberg Vittinghus (Denmark) and Greysia Polii (Indonesia) who have concluded their four-year terms.

Lithuania’s Akvilė Stapusaityte (25 votes) is the third woman elected to the Commission. However, she will only serve two years as she will finish the term of Tang Yuanting. The Chinese player became a member of the Athletes’ Commission in 2015 but resigned following her retirement from badminton last year, thus leaving a casual vacancy on the Commission.

Regulations stipulate the male with highest number of votes; the female with the highest number of votes and then the person with the next highest number of votes (male or female) win the three places. By virtue of Tang’s resignation, the female with the next-highest number of votes was required to replace her.

Voting took place on the sidelines of the TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup 2017 in Gold Coast today as well as via email during the past month. A total of 183 valid votes were cast. There were two invalid votes. 

The new Athletes’ Commission members will join Shintaro Ikeda of Japan; Koen Ridder of the Netherlands; and India’s Saina Nehwal on the players’ representative body.

The overall election results are as follows:

Press release by BWF, 24 May 2017
© All rights reserved.

Related news
Jorgensen: It has been a tough ride
This week is important for all...

The Badminton World Federat...

These are the new national champions
Several European Member Associ...

Astrup: Being back in top 10 feels great!
 “Finally we are back in top 1...

Buy tickets to Europe’s first HSBC BWF World Tour tournament
Badminton World Federation’s (...

Over and out for Evans
Scott Evans has announced his ...

More news