Yuhan Tan new chair of Athletes’ Commission
Date: 6/8/2015 10:57 PM
Published by : Manuel Røsler

Belgian badminton player, Yuhan Tan, is the new Chair of the BWF Athletes’ Commission. The 28-year-old has been selected by fellow Commission members to lead the players’ representative body and will replace outgoing Commission Chair Emma Mason on the BWF Council.

Tan, who competed in the London 2012 Olympic Games, has already been a member of the Athletes’ Commission for two years and will have Koen Ridder of the Netherlands, who was elected to the Commission last month, as his Vice Chair.

In his new duties as Chair, Tan will be a full voting member of the BWF Council and has the responsibility to advise Council on matters relevant to athletes. He is halfway through his four-year term on the Commission and will serve two years as Chair until his term ends in 2017.

Other members of the BWF Athletes Commission are: Tang Yuanting (China); Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (Denmark); Greysia Polii (Indonesia) and Shintaro Ikeda (Japan). Pedro Yang (Guatemala) is a member of the IOC Athletes’ Commission and therefore an ex-officio member of the BWF Athletes' Commission.

The Commission was established in 2008 to represent the views of athletes within the BWF Council.

Press release by BWF. Photo by BadmintonPhoto.

© All rights reserved.

Related news
First round kick off for Mitsova and Lamsfuss
The main draw of the Super 30...

These Europeans are ready for the next round in Swiss Open
YONEX Swiss Open 2018 has star...

Triple world champion after Paralympics announcement: Yes, I was disappointed
Back in the fall of 2017, the ...

Jan Jorgensen: Hopefully I can get a lot of matches
Jan Jorgensen from Denmark is ...

Jorgensen: It has been a tough ride
This week is important for all...

The Badminton World Federat...

More news